

COMMENCEMENT

May 2016 Iowa City, Iowa

HONORARY DEGREES

The University of Iowa confers honorary degrees to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in such areas as research, scholarship, education, artistic creation, social activism, human rights, or humanitarian outreach. Nominations are made by the faculty, with selections approved by the Provost and the Board of Regents, State of Iowa.

Honorary degrees have been awarded to the following individuals:

Marvin Pomerantz, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2007

Ignacio Ponseti, Honorary Doctor of Science, December 2007

Robert Solow, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2008

Himie Voxman, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2008

Johan Hultin, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2009

Henry B. Tippie, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2009

Tom Brokaw, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010

Robert Hass, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010

John Pappajohn, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010

C. Vivian Stringer, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010

Gregs Thomopulos, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2010

Arthur A. Neu, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2010

Richard (Dick) Myers, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2011

Jerre Stead, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2011

Robert Osterhaus, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2012

Robert D. Ray, Honorary Doctor of Laws, May 2012

Stanley F. Redeker, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2012

John W. Colloton, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2013

Mary Louise Petersen, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2013

Leonard A. Hadley, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2014

Manny Villafana, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2014 The University of Iowa is pleased to make the following award in May 2016:

WILLIAM M. ("BILL") BRYSON – HONORARY DOCTOR OF HUMANE LETTERS

William M. ("Bill") Bryson, a native of Des Moines, Iowa, is the internationally renowned author of 21 books of literary nonfiction and a champion of writing, literature, and the sciences in higher education. Among his best-known works are two books on the history of the English language—The Mother Tongue: English and How it Got That Way and Made in America: An Informal History of the English Language in the United States—and many bestselling books on travel in the U.S. and abroad, including Notes from a Small Island and A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail. His acclaimed work of popular science, A Short History of Nearly Everything, won the Aventis prize in 2004, the EU Descartes Prize in 2005, and both the James Joyce Award (from the Literary and Historical Society of University College of Dublin) and the Golden Eagle Award in 2007. In 2006, Mr. Bryson was awarded an honorary Order of the British Empire (OBE) for his contributions to literature.

Mr. Bryson is also esteemed for his achievements in higher education administration and science education advocacy. In 2005 he was honored with the President's Award from Great Britain's Royal Society for Chemistry (RSC), which recognized him for advancing the cause of the chemical sciences. In 2007 he received the Bradford Washburn Award, the highest award given by the Museum of Science in Boston for contributions to the popularization of science. In 2013, he was elected an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society, becoming the first non-British citizen to receive that honor.

Mr. Bryson served as chancellor of Durham University in England from 2005 to 2011.

The University of Iowa wishes to recognize William M. Bryson for his contributions to literary nonfiction and to science education and communication, and for his outstanding record of leadership in higher education.