

Commencement

May 2012 Iowa City, Iowa

The University of Iowa

HONORARY DEGREES

The University of Iowa confers honorary degrees to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in such areas as research, scholarship, education, artistic creation, social activism, human rights, or humanitarian outreach. Nominations are made by the faculty, with selections approved by the Provost and the Board of Regents, State of Iowa.

Honorary degrees have been awarded to the following individuals:

- Marvin Pomerantz, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2007
- Ignacio Ponseti, Honorary Doctor of Science, December 2007
- Robert Solow, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2008
- Himie Voxman, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2008
- Johan Hultin, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2009
- Henry B. Tippie, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2009
- Tom Brokaw, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- Robert Hass, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- John Pappajohn, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- C. Vivian Stringer, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- Gregs Thomopulos, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2010
- Arthur A. Neu, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2010
- Richard (Dick) Myers, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2011
- Jerre Stead, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2011

The University of Iowa is pleased to make the following awards in May 2012:

ROBERT OSTERHAUS, HONORARY DOCTOR OF SCIENCE:

Robert J. Osterhaus, a 1952 UI pharmacy graduate, is a renowned leader in pharmacy practice, pharmacy education, and advocacy in support of the profession and the public good. The independent community pharmacy he has owned since 1965 has long been recognized as one of the most progressive, patientcentered pharmacy practices in the state. He has mentored scores of practitioners of all ages, and has served in numerous professional leadership positions. А longtime community leader, Mr. Osterhaus served four terms as representative for Iowa's 34th House District. As the only practicing health care professional in the Iowa General Assembly at the time, he provided expert perspectives on a variety of issues pertaining to health care that were invaluable to the development of several major legislative efforts. Mr. Osterhaus has been recognized for his leadership, service, and achievements with numerous awards and honors, including the Remington Honor Medal, the pharmacy profession's highest honor. Through his dual commitment to the highest standards in patient care and in higher education, he continues to have a profound impact on the pharmacy profession and on pharmacy education.

The University of Iowa wishes to recognize Mr. Robert Osterhaus for his exceptional contributions to civic and political leadership, his dedication to the pharmacy profession, and his loyalty to The University of Iowa.

ROBERT D. RAY, HONORARY DOCTOR OF LAWS:

First elected at age 40, Robert D. Ray served as governor of Iowa from 1969 to 1983. As governor, he acted to advance human rights in Iowa by convening the first Iowa Conference on the Status of Women; declaring by Executive Order that Iowa's state government should be open to people regardless of their race, color, or creed; pushing for the passage of the Iowa Burials Protection Act of 1976, the first legislative act in the U.S. that specifically protected Native American remains; and establishing the Iowa Council for Children. He assisted in the resettlement in Iowa of 10,000 refugees from Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, and Thailand after the U.S. withdrawal from Vietnam, and served as a delegate to the United Nations Conference on Refugees in Geneva in 1979. Governor Ray has served as chair of the National Governors Association and president of the Council of State Governments. Following his time as governor, he served as interim president of Drake University and as interim mayor of Des Moines. He has been the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the Christine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice, which is given to individuals whose lives and work have illustrated outstanding dedication and service to those values.

The University of Iowa wishes to recognize Governor Robert Ray for his exceptional leadership as governor of the state of Iowa, his visionary and dedicated service to the people of the state and nation before and since his governorship, and his exemplary role as a model "citizen lawyer."

STANLEY F. REDEKER, HONORARY DOCTOR OF HUMANE LETTERS:

Stanley Redeker served as a member of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, from 1961 to 1973. In 1965 he was unanimously elected Board president-even though he was a member of the minority party-in an early demonstration of his unifying influence on that body. The Board confronted many extraordinary challenges during the years of his service, many arising from the tempestuous institutional, social, and political changes of the times. In the face of these challenges, Mr. Redeker steadfastly defended the University and its academic values. An extraordinary representative of and spokesman for the University, he was able to articulate its values and priorities to diverse external constituencies and interact constructively with the legislative and executive branches of government. Through his leadership and diplomacy he was an important force in keeping the Board united and effective in a period of almost continual crisis. In the years since Mr. Redeker's retirement from the Board, he has been an exemplary citizen leader in his community.

The University of Iowa wishes to recognize Mr. Stanley Redeker for his exceptional contributions to state educational leadership, his ability to unify the Board of Regents during a contentious period, and his dedication to the values of the University during troubled times.