

Commencement

May 2013 Iowa City, Iowa

The University of Iowa

HONORARY DEGREES

The University of Iowa confers honorary degrees to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in such areas as research, scholarship, education, artistic creation, social activism, human rights, or humanitarian outreach. Nominations are made by the faculty, with selections approved by the Provost and the Board of Regents, State of Iowa.

Honorary degrees have been awarded to the following individuals:

- Marvin Pomerantz, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2007
- Ignacio Ponseti, Honorary Doctor of Science, December 2007
- Robert Solow, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2008
- Himie Voxman, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2008
- Johan Hultin, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2009
- Henry B. Tippie, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2009
- Tom Brokaw, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- Robert Hass, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- John Pappajohn, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- C. Vivian Stringer, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2010
- Gregs Thomopulos, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2010
- Arthur A. Neu, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, December 2010
- Richard (Dick) Myers, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2011
- Jerre Stead, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2011
- Robert Osterhaus, Honorary Doctor of Science, May 2012
- Robert D. Ray, Honorary Doctor of Laws, May 2012
- Stanley F. Redeker, Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters, May 2012

The University of Iowa is pleased to make the following awards in May 2013:

JOHN W. COLLOTON -- HONORARY DOCTOR OF HUMANE LETTERS

After earning his master's degree from what is now the Department of Health Management and Policy in the College of Public Health, John W. Colloton served the University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics (UIHC) for 44 years, 22 of them as CEO. During his tenure, he transformed the UIHC from a physically and operationally outmoded hospital campus into a state-ofthe-art comprehensive academic medical center. He was elected a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 1987, and chairman of the Association of American Medical Colleges in 1988-only the second non-physician to hold that position in the 112-year history of the association. Additional honors Mr. Colloton has received in recognition of his leadership and contributions to the fields of medicine, public health, and health care include induction into the National Health Care Hall of Fame, receipt of the American Hospital Association's Distinguished Service Award, and receipt of the Horatio Alger Award for Distinguished Americans. The University of Iowa and the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, have previously recognized Mr. Colloton's contributions in several significant ways, including the naming of the UIHC John W. Colloton Pavilion in honor of his leadership. Mr. Colloton and his wife Mary Ann are recognized as Founding Partners of the College of Public Health, of which he has been a dedicated supporter.

The University of Iowa wishes to recognize John W. Colloton for his visionary leadership of and more than four decades of service to the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics; his extraordinary contributions to medicine, public health, and health care in Iowa and beyond; and his enduring commitment to advancing the University of Iowa in all aspects of its education, research, and service mission.

MARY LOUISE PETERSEN, HONOR-ARY DOCTOR OF HUMANE LETTERS

Mary Louise Petersen graduated with highest distinction from the UI College of Liberal Arts in 1951. She joined the Iowa State Board of Regents (as it was then known) in 1969, and served as Board president from 1973 until 1981. In that role she advanced a vision of higher education trusteeship that embraced not just fiduciary responsibility but also careful nurturing of the academic culture, respect for diverse points of view, and collaboration. She received national recognition for her leadership, including appointment to the Carnegie Foundation Board of Trustees, election as chair of the board of directors of the Association of Governing Boards for Colleges and Universities, and service as an advisor to the National Association of College and University Business Officers. Through her national service she had a profound impact on higher education nationwide, and was an invaluable ambassador for Iowa. Ms. Petersen has remained an important friend of the University and the UI Foundation. She co-chaired the Good. Better. Best. Iowa. capital campaign and the Old Capitol Museum campaign, was a member of the UI Foundation's board of directors from 1991 to 2006, and now is a lifetime honorary director. She and her husband Rand have generously supported UI programs, particularly the Pentacrest museums. Ms. Petersen has received the state of Iowa's Distinguished Service Award and is a member of the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame.

The University of Iowa wishes to recognize Mary Louise Petersen for her exceptional contributions to higher education governance in Iowa and nationally, for her ongoing dedication to civic leadership, and for her long and distinguished record of service in support of the University's mission.